MITRE Solving Problems for a Safer World

Coronavirus Commission for Safety and Quality in Nursing Homes

Nurse helping a nursing home resident

MITRE is launching an effort to convene a new independent Commission that will conduct a comprehensive assessment of the nursing home response to the 2019 Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

About the Commission

President Trump announced on April 30, 2020, that CMS will establish an independent commission to help inform immediate and future responses to COVID-19 in nursing homes.  The formation of the independent Commission builds upon CMS’s five-part plan to ensure safety and quality in America’s nursing homes, which was announced in April 2019, and recent agency efforts to combat the spread of COVID-19 within these facilities.

The Commission will conduct a comprehensive assessment of the nursing home response to the COVID-19 pandemic which will inform efforts to safeguard the health and quality of life of vulnerable Americans as CMS continues to battle COVID-19, as well as prepare for future threats to resident safety and public health. The Commission will consist of a diverse group of individuals which may include industry experts, clinicians, residents, patient advocates, family members, medical ethicists, administrators, academicians, infection control and prevention professionals, state and local authorities, and other stakeholders whose expertise can contribute to one or more of the areas on which the Commission will focus. The Commission will virtually convene at the beginning of June and may convene 2-3 additional times during the summer. The Commission’s work is expected to be completed by September 1, 2020.

MITRE is convening the Commission, which includes nominating and selecting members, facilitating meetings, and independently producing a final report to CMS regarding the commission’s findings and recommendations. MITRE will submit the final report to CMS on September 1, 2020.

Thank you for your interest in the Commission. The final list of Commission members is listed below:

  • Roya Agahi, RN, MS HCM, WCC; Chief Nursing Officer, formerly of NYC Health + Hospitals, soon to be of CareRite, New York
  • Lisa M. Brown, PhD, ABPP; Professor of Psychology, Palo Alto University, California
  • Mark Burket, CEO, Platte Health Center Avera, South Dakota
  • Eric M. Carlson, JD; Directing Attorney, Justice in Aging, California
  • Michelle Dionne-Vahalik, DNP, RN; Associate Commissioner, State Health and Human Services Commission, Texas
  • Debra Fournier, MSB, BSN, ANCC RN-BC, LNHA, CHD, CPHQ; COO, Veterans’ Homes, Maine
  • Terry T. Fulmer, PhD, RN, FAAN; President, The John A. Hartford Foundation, New York
  • Candace S. Goehring, MN, RN; Director, State Department of Social and Health Services, Aging and Long-Term Support Administration, Washington
  • David C. Grabowski, PhD; Professor of Healthcare Policy, Harvard University, Massachusetts
  • Camille Rochelle Jordan, RN, BSN, MSN, APRN, FNP-C, CDP; Senior Vice President of Clinical Operations & Innovations, Signature Healthcare, Kentucky
  • Jessica Kalender-Rich, MD, CMD, AGSF, FAAHPM, FACP; Medical Director, Post-Acute Care, University of Kansas Health System, Kansas
  • Marshall Barry Kapp, JD, MPH; Professor Emeritus of Law, Florida State University, Florida
  • Morgan Jane Katz, MD, MHS; Assistant Professor of Medicine, Johns Hopkins University, Maryland
  • Beverley L. Laubert, MA; State Long-Term Care Ombudsman, State Department of Aging, Ohio
  • Rosie D. Lyles, MD, MHA, MSc, FACA; Director of Clinical Affairs, Medline Industries, Illinois
  • Jeannee Parker Martin, MPH, BSN; President and CEO, LeadingAge California
  • G. Adam Mayle, CHFM, CHC, CHE; Administrative Director of Facilities, Memorial Healthcare System, Florida
  • David A. Nace, MD, MPH, CMD; President, AMDA – The Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine, Pennsylvania
  • Lori Porter, LNHA, CNA; CEO, National Association of Health Care Assistants, Missouri
  • Neil Pruitt, Jr., MBA, MHA, LNHA; Chairman and CEO, PruittHealth, Inc., Georgia
  • Penelope Ann Shaw, PhD; Nursing Home Resident and Advocate, Braintree Manor Healthcare, Massachusetts
  • Lori O. Smetanka, JD; Executive Director, National Consumer Voice for Quality Long-Term Care, Maryland
  • Janet Snipes, LNHA; Executive Director, Holly Heights Nursing Home, Colorado
  • Patricia W. Stone, PhD, MPH, FAAN, RN, CIC; Professor of Health Policy in Nursing, Columbia University, New York
  • Dallas Taylor, BSN, RN; Director of Nursing, Eliza Bryant Village, Ohio

Questions about the Commission can be directed to


MITRE’s mission-driven teams are dedicated to solving problems for a safer world. Through our public-private partnerships and federally funded R&D centers, we work across government and in partnership with industry to tackle challenges to the safety, stability, and well-being of our nation.

© Copyright 2020, The MITRE Corporation. All rights reserved. #20-1334